PRESS RELEASE: Train drivers to walk out again as government fails to act

-
Train drivers who are members of ASLEF union will take strike action in January and February in a long-running dispute over pay.

Train drivers who are members of ASLEF union will take strike action in January and February in a long-running dispute over pay.

A series of strikes will take place between Tuesday 30 January and Monday 5 February 2024.

Members will walk out at Southeastern, GTR Southern/Gatwick Express, GTR Great Northern Thameslink, SWR Island Line and South Western Railway on Tuesday 30 January; at Northern Trains and Transpennine Trains on Wednesday 31 January; at Greater Anglia, C2C and LNER on Friday 2 February; at West Midlands Trains, Avanti West Coast and East Midlands Railway on Saturday 3 February, and at Great Western, CrossCountry and Chiltern on Monday 5 February.

The drivers will also refuse to work overtime from Monday 29 January until Tuesday 6 February.

ASLEF’s general secretary Mick Whelan said:

"We have given the government every opportunity to come to the table but it has now been a year since we had any contact from the Department for Transport. It's clear they do not want to resolve this dispute.

"Many of our members have now not had a single penny increase to their pay in half a decade, during which inflation soared and with it the cost of living. Train drivers didn't even ask for an increase during the Covid-19 pandemic when they worked throughout as keyworkers, risking their lives to allow NHS and other workers to travel.

"The government has now tried their old trick of changing the rules when they can't win and brought in Minimum Service Levels legislation. But this new law, as we told officials during the consultation period, won't ease industrial strife. It will likely just make it worse. 

"There's no excuse. The government and train operating companies must come to the table with a realistic offer so we can end this dispute and work together to ensure the future of our railways."

ENDS

 

Notes to editors:

Action Short of a Strike:

Drivers will refuse to work any non-contractual overtime from 00:01 Monday 29 January until 23:59 Tuesday 6 February.

 

Strike Action:

Walkouts will take place on the following dates.

Tuesday 30 January: Southeastern, GTR Southern/Gatwick Express, GTR Great Northern Thameslink, SWR Island Line, South Western Railway Depot Drivers, South Western Railway mainline drivers

Wednesday 31 January: Northern Trains, Transpennine Trains

Friday 2 February: Greater Anglia, C2C, LNER

Saturday 3 February: West Midlands Trains, Avanti West Coast, East Midlands Railway

Monday 5 February: Great Western Railway, CrossCountry, Chiltern

 

History of the dispute:

We have called 14 one-day strikes during this 18-month dispute. Our first ballots went out in June 2022 and our members withdrew their labour on Saturday 30 July 2022; Saturday 13 August; Saturday 1 October; Wednesday 5 October; Saturday 26 November; Thursday 5 January 2023; Wednesday 1 February; Friday 3 February; Friday 12 May; Wednesday 31 May; Saturday 3 June; Friday 5 September; Saturday 30 September; and Wednesday 4 October.

A week of strikes staggered between companies took place from Saturday 2 December to Saturday 9 December 2023.

We have also withdrawn non-contractual overtime – from Monday 15 to Saturday 20 May 2023; from Monday 3 to Saturday 8 July; from Monday 17 to Saturday 22 July; from Monday 31 July to Saturday 5 August; from Monday 7 to Saturday 12 August; on Friday 29 September; from Monday 2 to Friday 6 October, and Friday 1 to Saturday 9 December.

 

For more information please contact:

Keith Richmond

020 7324 2407

07977 498794

richmondk@aslef.org.uk